Leadership Team

"There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives." -Audre Lorde

During 2014-2015, WACY pursued an ambitious process to better align with the Collective Impact model, which included developing a Leadership Team. Convening a high-level team of local cross-sector leaders, known as a Leadership Team, is one critical component of Collective Impact necessary for solving complex community problems and creating sustainable, systemic change. On June 24, 2015, WACY held its first Leadership Team meeting with community leaders who have come together to improve outcomes for children and youth in Washtenaw County.

Our Leadership Team:

  • Adelia Clark, Social Services Section Manager, Washtenaw County Department of Human Services
  • Bonnie Billups, Jr., Executive Director, Peace Neighborhood Center
  • Bonnie Truhn, Adult Transitions Manager, Washtenaw Community College
  • Diane Hockett, President of the Board of Education, Washtenaw Intermediate School District
  • Derrick Jackson, Director of Community Engagement, Washtenaw County Sheriff's Office
  • Elizabeth Spring, Program Administrator, Washtenaw County Community Support and Treatment Services
  • Holly Heaviland, Executive Director of Community and School Partnerships, Washtenaw Intermediate School District
  • Jack Bidlack, Assistant Director, Engage@EMU & Communities That Care - Ypsilanti, Eastern Michigan University
  • Jennifer Spitler, Executive Director, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Washtenaw County
  • Jillian Rosen, Director of Community Investment, Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation & Washtenaw Coordinated Funders
  • Kharena Keith, Coordinator of Wellness and Community Partnerships, Ypsilanti Community Schools
  • Katie Doyle, Executive Director, Ozone House
  • Laura Bauman, Epidemiology Program Manager, Washtenaw County Public Health 
  • Linda Edwards-Brown, Juvenile Court Administrator, Washtenaw County Trial Court 
  • Nicole Adelman, Executive Director, Corner Health Center
  • Peri Stone-Palmquist, Executive Director, Student Advocacy Center 
  • Rhonda Weathers, Executive Director, SOS Community Services


Download Leadership Team minutes here.